Middle of No Weare!

I rode a loop I have not done in a long time yesterday.  The route starts for me in Concord and I hit the following towns…..Hopkinton, Contoocook, Henniker, Hillsboro, Deering, Weare (hence the play on the title of this post), Goffstown,  Dunbarton and finally Bow before I headed back into Concord.

I don’t know what it was about yesterday but once I got out of Concord there was virtually no traffic whatsoever.  At one point I had almost a half hour where nothing passed me.  Trust me, I am not complaining one bit, it is just very rare for that to happen.  Even when I am riding out in the boonies.

The Summer like temps disappeared Friday night.  Saturday was still nice, but not like it had been during the week.  I left early because I am firm believer in the mantra of the quicker I get out, the quicker I get back.  The plan was for at least 3 hours, hopefully 4+.  I knew I was heading to Hillsboro and then I was going to make it up from there.

"downtown" Hillsboro, NH

At the lights in the above picture it was decision time.  Right would take me out to Bradford and Warner and left would take me to Deering and Weare.  I opted for left since it was been at least 2 years since I rode out that way.

Bike Art

The left turn follows Route 149 South.  I think the last time I was out here I was racing the Hampshire 100.  Which would mean it was more than 2 years ago, but I am not certain.

It’s a fairly long climb out of Hillsboro into Deering and I passed several Maple Farms celebrating the weekends Maple Sugaring Festivities.  I also passed some cows laying down, which is a sure sign of rain coming…at least that is the old farmer’s story.

Farmer's Meteorologists

Given the fact that as I write this it is raining, I think those farmer’s tales have some merit to them.

Entering Northern Weare..i.e. "No Weare"

Follwing Route 149 South drops you down past AG Paintball which I’ve played at a couple times.  It’s fun, but some people take it WAY too serious.  If you go, make sure you go with a large enough group to make it so you play with your group only.  Otherwise they combine you with other groups and that is how we found that some people are a little too serious when it comes to paintball.  Don’t get me wrong, it is fun, but keep it in perspective.

I rolled back into home with just under 4+ hours, so I grabbed the Trek Speed Concept and headed out for another 20-30 minute loop.  My first Duathlon is in 3 weeks.  I need to make sure I get that position dialed in on that bike.  After this short ride, I am almost there.

So, how do you wrap up a 70+ mile/4+ hour ride?  Go to Mr. Mac’s in Manchester, NH for a huge variety of mac-n-cheese to choose from.  The place was pretty packed.  We got a table near the window and enjoyed some crazy good and super cheesy dinner.

GPS Data
Thanks for reading.

-Pete

Leave a Reply

