Giada, a run, a ride

Mia and I took Friday off to go to Wheelworks in Belmont, MA.   They are having their annual super sale and I was in desperate need of new helmet.  We had decided we might as well make the trip worth it and also hit Kane’s Donuts in Saugus, MA.  Then on Wednesday evening I learned that Giada De Laurentiis was going to be in Boston doing a book signing for her new cookbook.  Sounded like a good way to spend Friday.

Nothing ever totally goes as planned, and you have to roll with it.  The day started fine with us getting to Kane’s in a round about fashion thanks to the GPS.  We hit some really odd back roads compared to the way it took us last time.  Then we managed to get to Boston and Copley Plaza for the book signing.  I had called ahead on Thursday to see what the hours were for the event.  The girl on the other side at William & Sonoma was pretty rude and useless.  She did not know anything besides the fact that the even started at 11 AM.

Mia and I got to the Copley Plaza around  10:30 and the line was HUGE!  We proceeded to the back of the line and a guy asks us if we have reserved a book.  Nope, we did not.  He then informs us that the event is sold out and that the only way to get access was to pre-purchase a book which gained us entrance to the event.  Needless to say I was a bit annoyed and kind of sad.  Had the useless girl on the phone from Thursday told me that, we could have planned better.

Slightly dejected, we walked back to the car and headed over to Belmont so I could get a new helmet.  After a brief discussion, Mia called Dave’s Market in Smithfield, RI.  You see, Giada was going to be there for another signing at 4pm.  We figured, what the heck, it’s only like 40 minutes away.  We did not have to be anywhere and we had plenty of time to get there for the 4pm start time.  It was only 11:15 at this point.

So we got to Wheelworks, I tried on a bunch of new helmets and was really pleased with the Kask “Mojito” helmet.  It fit reall nice.  It was a bit more than I had hoped to pay, but it was my first new helmet in 3 years and I figure it will last another 3 years before I replace it.

With the donuts done, helmet purchased and a plan in place to meet Giada, we were off to Rhode Island.  We arrived @ 1:15 and there were already about 150-175 people standing in line.  So we joined the back of the line and waited.  The staff of the market came down the line handing out free samples of food and stuff while everyone waited.  It was not that bad and the time flew by pretty quick.  We got inside, purchased our copy and Mia and I waited in line to get a book signed.

The whole thing moved along like an assembly line.  They did not let people dilly dally up at the table and no pictures were allowed once you got to a certain point.  Part of me feels bad for Giada.  Here she is with tons of fans waiting to meet her, and it’s literally a 15-20 second experience before her handlers shuffle you along and get the next person up.
Personally I had been hoping to get my picture taken with her, but that was looking highly unlikely.  She was only there for 2 hours and with hundreds of people waiting to get in to see her, it looked like the photo option was a “no go”.  I did manage to snap a few shots after she signed our book.

Giada De Laurentiis!

She is as beautiful in real life as you would imagine.  Sometimes stars look better on TV than in person from my few  personal experiences meeting a few, but in this case, Giada is just as stunning and tiny as you would think.  These 2 pics are not that great, I wish I could have gotten a better one.

Another attempted shot of Giada

It was a very quick time standing in front of her, and I was a little star struck, but honestly it was worth it.  I don’t get all giddy over celebs at all, but if there are two individuals I would want to meet, Giada and Salma Hayek are on the top of my list.  As we left to head home, there were well over 1,000+ people standing in line to meet her.  Not everyone got in since the event was only 2 hours.  It was nuts!  Thank goodness we got there super early.

So anyways…..that was Friday.  It was a fun day with a lot of driving, but all in all spending it with Mia and doing something out of the ordinary like this was a good way to spend the day.

Saturday March 31, 2012.

The big goal of the week was the April Fools 4 Miler in Salisbury, MA.  I had signed up well in advance so that I could get my technical T-shirt.  Mia and I got there nice and early, avoided the lines at the port-a-potties and then proceeded over to the start line.
I had really been hoping for warmer weather.   It was actually spitting snow off and on and it was kind of cold.  Quite a change from the 70-80’s we had just a bit ago.  It was a reminder that it is only March still.
The race course was crazy fast.  It had 10 feet of total elevation gain along 4 miles.  That is about as flat as you can get in New England!  I ran a 6:50 pace which I was happy with.  I had been hoping for at least a 7 min/mile pace so goal accomplished.

Pre-race jitters

The top 12 people all ran sub 6 min/mile pace.  I was 60th overall (about 1,000 runners total) and placed 6th in the 35-39 age group.  Not too bad if you ask me.

Finishing it off

Sunday April 1, 2012.

My only 2 goals for Sunday were watch the Tour of Flanders live and get on a 2 hour ride.  Both goals accomplished.  Watching Boonen win the sprint was pretty sweet.   I thought Pozzato had a good chance, but Tom Boonen showed he is definitely on track this year.  Too bad for Cancellara breaking his collarbone.  That wipes out his spring campaign.

Paul and I then got in a nice easy 2 hour spin.  My legs were a bit shot from the all out effort yesterday, so I need to move them and loosen them up.   We even made it back before the rain hit and got to ride in the sun for most of the loop.

All in all, it was a good 3 days.

Thanks for reading.

-Pete

Leave a Reply

