2012 Wrentham Duathlon

Today was only my 3rd duathlon and my very first road based duathlon.  The other two have both been XC run and mountain bike based.  The Wrentham Duathlon is put on by FIRM,  I did their Rockbuster Duathlon last year and it was pretty fun.  Today’s road based duathlon was a 3 mile run, 11 mile bike and 2 mile run.

I was hoping for a fairly decent outing today.  Though expectations were a tad curtailed.  I’ve been battling a pretty lingering cold for about 10 days now.  I did wake up this morning feeling better than I did the past 3-4 days.  I could at least breathe normally.

Mia was kind enough to go with me, though I did promise her we could visit the Wrentham Outlets after too.  We had to leave early though, it’s about a 2 hour drive to the race start from Concord.  So we were out the door at just past 6AM.

I’ll give a very brief race recap.  My first 3 mile run was okay.  Finished that in about 20:30, my transition was pretty quick because Paul finally convinced me to try Lock Laces.  I will say, they do significantly improve your transition from running to bike and bike to run with how simple they are to use.
The bike was of course my strong point.  I passed A LOT of people in those 11 miles.  The Trek SC worked pretty darn well.  With the race wheels it was smooth and fast.  I was very happy with how the bike leg went.
The final 2 mile run was less than stellar.  I had a hard time getting lower than an 8-8:30 mile pace.  Needless to say it is something that I need to work on in the future.

I ended up 10th in the 35-39 group.  Not sure how I did overall just yet.  Those results were not posted yet and we did not stick around to wait.

So, since this was my first road based DU, I can say that I am happy all around.  No bike problems, no body problems.  The weather was absolutely awesome today, with a mid 60’s temp at race start.

I want to thank Mia for coming and taking some pictures and driving my butt home afterwards.  I also want to thank her for putting up with my walking at the pace of an 85 year old while at the Outlets.

Here are a few shots she took from today.

Trek Speed Concept 7.0 Race Ready

Check out the bike to the left of mine!  Talk about old school.

I'm still pretty pasty white for this time of year.
Pretty good sized group today
Heading out for my 2nd run leg
Yes! Almost Done!

So, after 24+ years of bike racing and now picking up running again for the past 3-4 years, it was about time to combine them both.  I had a blast and want to thank the promoters for a well run event.

Thanks for reading.

-Pete

Leave a Reply

