Trek Farley 7

So, I’ve got a new bike….a Trek Farley 7,I sold two bikes to get this one.  One was my Trek Speed Concept TT bike and the other my beloved Salsa Fargo.  Selling the Fargo wasn’t easy.  I was thinking of upgrading to the newer Fargo frameset.  They are more “mountain bikey” compared to the 1st generation model I had.  However a new frame is $1,000, new front wheel (thru axle) would have been $250-300.  Then toss in cables, new headset and a few other things, and the price got close to $1500+.  A new Fargo X9 is “only” $2300.  So chances are I’ll end up with another Fargo down the road, but probably not until 2017.

24111118694_505d42a235_z
all clean and pristine…for now

I’m one of those people who originally scoffed a fat bikes 10 years ago.  I was more in the racing/go fast mindset back then.  Two things have happened in that time though.

  1. I’ve mellowed out a bit
  2. Fat bike design has come a LONG way

The Trek is definitely one of the more “racier” geometries out there.  The Salsa Beargrease had really caught my eye too, but the Farley won out based on spec, price and most important availability in my size.

24645759071_bbce1c8338_z
a tad dirty now

Contrary to some beliefs/misconceptions, fat bikes are not just “snow bikes”.  They are great mountain bikes.  Not going to replace my race hardtail with it, but it will be fun to tool around on and to keep me busy in the winters too.  To some degree it reminds me of a motorless Honda Fat Cat from the 1980’s.

When you come into a corner with speed, the tires just totally bite into the turn.  It’s definitely grin inducing and makes me a bit giddy.  For those of us who have been doing this for awhile, it brings me back to my first race mountain bike.  No suspension, just some 2.25 tires and an aggressive tread.  The 4.8″ tires on the Farley do offer up some suspension characteristics though.  Tire pressure is interesting, I’m still going to have to dial in the tire pressure.  I was running them a bit too high today  most people seem to run around 10 PSI, I was probably 12-14 PSI.  Eventually they will get setup tubeless too.

I did some exploring out at Stub Stewart today.   The Farley isn’t the fastest bike going uphill, but it doesn’t climb all that bad for it’s size.  The rollers and downhills were fun, there’s no other way to describe it.

Lastly, I want to say a huge THANK YOU to Oregon State Parks for having a bike wash station.  It’s a brilliant idea and I’m going to say to my NH family and friends, you guys need to pressure NH State Parks to install one, at the very least, at Bear Brook.

24739278965_9fd5f4991a_z
I thank you and Mia thanks you!

No dirty car, no need to whip out the hose and bucket when you get home either.  It’s awesome!

That’s about it for now.

Thanks for reading,

-Pete

 

2 thoughts on “Trek Farley 7

  1. Cool bike. I’m buying the 2017. Curious about the bike wash at the trail head. Does it encourage riding (“poaching”) muddy trails? Not being sarcastic here, but I like the idea for some of our trails here in MN.

    1. I don’t think it encourages ridding muddy trails. This particular park, Stub Stewart, is pretty proactive about closing trails during the wet season. One of the arguments for the bike cleaning stations is it does keep from spreading invasive species similar to the concept of a boat launch check. People clean their bikes where they rode them and don’t end up carting around seeds or other items to spread some place else.

Leave a Reply

